General Inquiries:
Allana Burke
Tel: (917) 664-3507


Sponsorship Information:
Paul Zampitella
Advertising Director - Asset International
Tel: (617) 670-4706





Strategic Insight
25th Anniversary Gala
Monday, Nov 7, 2011
Chelsea Piers, Pier 61, The Lighthouse

About | Visionary Awards | Visionary Advisory Board | Speakers | Testimonials | Photos


Visionaries of The Modern Era of the Mutual Fund Industry

At the November 7th gala, Strategic Insight and its "Visionary" Advisory Board honored individuals who have helped create the foundation of the industry and have led and protected it in the past quarter century. These leaders were selected by Strategic Insight's "Visionaries" Advisory Board.

SI Visionary Advisory Board includes (in alphabetical order): Ed Bernard, Jack Brennan, Andrew J. "Buddy" Donohue, Peter Drotch, Matt Fink, Carl Frischling, Paul Haaga, Theresa Hamacher, Susan Kerley, Amy Lancellotta, Mike Lipper, Avi Nachmany, Judy Rice, Roger Servison, and Susan Wyderko.

Visionaries to be recognized at the SI's 25th Anniversary Gala
New York City, November 7th, 2011

Name Affiliations
Charles "Ted" Bauer Invesco (formerly AIM) Funds
Bruce Bent The Reserve Fund
Ed Bernard T. Rowe Price
Jim Bodurtha Merrill Lynch Investment Management, BlackRock (fund director)
Jack Bogle The Vanguard Group
David Booth Dimensional Fund Advisors
Jack Brennan The Vanguard Group
Marsh Carter State Street Corp.
Bruce Crockett Invesco Funds (fund director, Independent Chairman of the Board)
Jack Donahue Federated Investors
Andrew "Buddy" Donohue  SEC's Investment Management Division, OppenheimerFunds, Merrill Lynch Investment Management, Morgan Lewis & Bockius
Jack Dreyfus The Dreyfus Corp.
Dawn-Marie Driscoll  DWS (fund director)
Larry Fink BlackRock
Matt Fink Investment Company Institute
Carl Frischling Kramer Levin
Joel Goldberg SEC's Investment Management Division, Stroock
Mike Goldstein Empirical Research
Robert L Gould Fidelity Investments
Bill Gross PIMCO
Blake Grossman Barclays Global Investors
Paul Haaga Capital Research & Management
Ned Johnson Fidelity Investments
Charles Johnson Franklin Templeton
David  Kelly NSCC, DTCC
Lee Kranefuss  Barclays Global Investors
Arthur Levitt SEC Chairman
Michael Lipper Lipper Analytical
Jon  Lovelace The Capital Group
Jonathan Bell Lovelace The Capital Group
Peter Lynch Fidelity Investments
Ron Lynch Lord Abbett
Joe  Mansueto Morningstar
Chip Mason Legg Mason
Tom McDonnell  DST
John McGonigle Charles Schwab
Syd Mendelsohn SEC's Investment Management Division
Allan Mostoff Mutual Fund Directors Forum, Dechert
John Neff Wellington Management
Bill  Nutt Affiliated Managers Group
Dick Phillips K&L Gates, SEC's Investment Management Division
Don Phillips Morningstar
Bob Pozen Fidelity Investments, MFS Investment Management
Thomas Rowe Price T. Rowe Price
George Putnam Putnam Investments
Bob  Reynolds Fidelity Investments, Putnam Investments
Jim Riepe T. Rowe Price
Joel Rosenthal Strategic Insight
Chuck Schwab Charles Schwab
Roger Servison Fidelity Investments
David Silver Investment Company Institute
Launny Steffens Merrill Lynch
Howard Stein The Dreyfus Corp.
Paul Stevens Investment Company Institute
Gary Strum E.F. Hutton
John Templeton Templeton, Galbraith & Hansberger
Frederick Werblow Price Waterhouse
Al  West SEI
Steve West Sullivan & Cromwell
Arthur Zeikel Merrill Lynch Asset Management

Criteria for Nomination

Nominees for Strategic Insight's "Visionary" Award were fund executives, service company leaders, regulators, attorneys, ICI leaders, and other influential individuals within our industry (this award does not focus on portfolio managers, though). The broad categories below are intended to help you understand our process. Most of the winners are those serving the industry during the 1980s and later, but some are among those laying the important foundations for mutual fund future growth before.

Leaders, Advocates: Individuals who set high standards for investor protection and regulatory compliance, helped steer the industry through challenging times, exemplified the entrepreneurial spirit of the industry, and made the benefits of mutual funds available to more investors in the US and around the world.

Pioneers, Innovators: Those who have led innovation in:

  • Investment vehicles (money funds, innovative bond funds, global investing, index funds, ETFs, etc.);
  • Distribution (401(k), direct, fund marketplaces, advisor-distributed platforms);
  • Building enduring firms organically or through collaboration with a number of investment managers under a common parent.

Technology and Operations Innovators: Champions of innovative technology and operational approaches that helped the industry better serve investment companies, advisors, and investors, including back office industrialization, trading efficiency, service enhancements (daily 401(k) valuation, online services, etc.).

Regulatory / Legislative Groundbreakers: Those having a significant impact on:

  • Legislative and regulatory changes that improved retirement saving and access to mutual funds;
  • Enduring improvements in access to mutual funds and services to fund investors;
  • Establishing or strengthening important industry institutions.